Eryri runners selected to run for North Wales at the XC Inter-regionals next weekend

Huge well done to Gethin Davies, Annabelle McQueen, Ryan Owen, Steffan Williams, Bronwen Jenkinson, John Spill, Becki Law, Hayley Turner, Beckie Taylor, Adrian Williams, Owen Roberts, Richard Roberts, Dewi Owen, Rob Samuel, Matthew Roberts, Andrea Rowlands, Megan Hughes, Helen Blair, Tammy Ddrwg Lewis-Jones, Ellie Salisbury, Annie Williams, Sandra Rowlands and last but not least Arwel Lewis who have all been selected to run for North Wales at the Welsh Inter-regional Cross Country Championships in Builth Wells on 12th December – not everyone selected is able to run (please let me know either way if you haven’t already) but fantastic achievement for all and good luck to everyone on the day!

For info and unlike last year, the Welsh Masters Cross Country Championships will now take place within the Welsh Cross Country Championships on 27th February in Swansea – see Welsh Athletics website for details.

November Mountain Report

As another season/year draws to a close there aren’t too many races to report on. However, there have been a couple of old favourites and a new team event.

On the 1st November the Clwydian Hills race from Cilcain was held. Three Eryri runners turned out with Russell Owen leading them home followed by Sarah Caskey. Unfortunately, Lou Beetlestone retired.

The following weekend was Rhobell Fawr and there was a larger turnout from the club. Led home by Matt Fortes in 4th place in 57:39, followed by Paul Jenkinson 10th, Rory O’Donnell 14th, Peter O’Brien 18th, Iwan Edgar 23rd, Bronwen Jenkinson 24th/3rd Lady, Becki Law 34th, Ruth Metcalfe 39th, Ali Thomas 47th, Maldwyn Evans 52nd, Ellie Salisbury 55th, Jack Roberts 58th & Maggie Oliver 64th.

Then on the 21st November it was time for the Penmaenmawr Fell Race. Organised by Eryri member Chris Near this race is the traditional finale to the fell racing season. Always a fantastic turnout (195 this year) and a large number of Eryri Harriers runners. The race was won by Math Roberts in a new record (1:08:38) comfortably beating Gareth Hughes and Lloyd Taggart in to 2nd & 3rd. Given the quality of Gareth and Lloyd it is worth noting Math was over 6 minutes clear! This rounds off a fantastic season for Math who, although he now runs for Calder Valley on the fells, he still runs in the famous green and red on the roads and cross country. Math has had a brilliant year which has seen him competing with the very best in the UK and win a Gold Medal at the British Relays. His run at Pen shows he is still in great form and I’m sure he will be mixing it at the front again next year.

Behind Math there were 29 Eryri Harriers led home by Hugh O’Donnell in 5th place (3rd Sen M) 1:19:32. Matt Fortes 7th, Russell Owen 15th/1st M50, Sion Harlow 16th, Paul Jones 17th, Gwion Williams 25th (shocking cut up of one of the HBT ladies on the last corner!), James McQueen 31st,  Iwan Edgar 33rd, Paul Jenkinson 34th, Derek Weaver 38th/1st M60, Becki Law 47th/3rd Sen Lady, Gary Porter-Jones 48th, Paul Hodges 49th, Megan Hughes 63rd, Emlyn Roberts 75th, Sarah Harley 80th, Nic Brook 84th, John Mainwaring 86th, Nia Albiston 87th, Chris Baker 90th, Lucy O’Donnell 103rd, Hayley Turner 128th, Tamsin Fretwell 129th, Jackie Lee 130th, Ellie Salisbury 136th, Harri Roberts 140th, Alex Fletcher 150th, Maggie Oliver 165th/1st F60, Alwyn Oliver 166th. Following the race there was a stewards enquiry regarding Maggie’s racing tactics as reports were received that she had kicked Alwyn out of the way, had then stuck her elbows out to stop him getting back past and that if he didn’t let her win there would be no tea on the table that night!! Ha! PS. That’s a joke! Maggie won fair and square! At least that’s what Alwyn says!

As always Pen was brilliant. The weather was amazing, the one good day in a month of gales and floods, the beer tasted great and it was great to see so many people.

Finally on Sunday 29th three intrepid teams set off to take part in the Lee Mill Fell Relays. The story of this event is the weather (at least looking at the photos it is!), which was at the very least ‘challenging’! The teams were made up from a variety of sources but primarily from the Thursday Night Hills Group, a real credit to the success of these nights and to Dyfed Whiteside Thomas and the others involved. Eryri 1 were 11th (Sam Green, Sam Orton, Dyfed Whiteside-Thomas, Shaun Davies). Eryri 2 were 56th (Elin Haf, Dilwyn Rowlands, Jen Charlton, Phil Lines) & Eryri 3 74th (Rhian Whiteside-Thomas, Helen Morgan, Llinos Greenhalgh, Jeanine Lewis).  I think there may have been another team but they don’t appear on the results? (Emlyn Owen?) It certainly looked wet and wild but a good time was had by all!!

Sunday Morning Runs are back under way so keep an eye out on the facebook page. They too had a seriously wet and windy first run out to Ogof’s Cave and this weekend are meeting at Bus Stop Quarry heading for Elidir Fawr.

Looking into December there’s not too much to mention:

6th Cardington Cracker (although it’s the same day as Caernarfon Border League – Arwel would kill me if I didn’t mention that!)

20th Eryri Harriers Xmas Fun Run

27th Jubilee Plunge

1st Jan Llyn Llydaw

Merry Xmas, Happy New Year and may the Running Gods be kind and generous on the 25th!


Lee Mill Relays

Dydd sul Tachwedd 29 trafeiliodd 3 tin Eryri I gystadlu yn ras “Lee Mill Relays” a cynhalwyd yn Rossendale ger Bury.

Cynhelir yr ras o gwmpas chwarel Lee Mill, cwrs 6.5 milltir, gyda phob aelod o’r tim yn rhedeg yr un cwrs,

Mwynhaodd pawb y diwrnod er gwaethaf y tywydd garw, gwelir linc

Three teams from Eryri Harriers travelled to Rossendale near Bury to compete in the Lee Mill Relays on Sunday 29th November.

The 6.5 mile course was a loop around the Lee Mill Quarry. All four members of each team had to run one leg each.  Everybody enjoyed themselves even though the weather was atrocious (see link)


Yn cynrycholi Eryri oedd: Eryri Harriers Representatives:

Tim Merched / Woman Team : Rhian Whiteside Thomas, Helen Morgan, Llinos Greenhalgh, Jeanine Lewis

Tim Cymusg / Mix Team: Elliw Haf, Dilwyn Rowlands, Jennifer Charlton, Phil Lynes

Tim Dynion / Mens Team: Sam Green, Sam Orton, Dyfed Whiteside Thomas, Shaun Davies