There was a thrilling finish to the race between Tom Roberts (Meirionydd) and Owen Roberts (Eryri) as they both came running over the brow of the hill down to the finish together with Tom just having that little bit extra to pip Owen to the line to win the inaugural event in a time of 16:13 with Owen clocking 16:14 with Ryan Cain (Menai T&F) not far behind in 16:22. The first female finisher in 25th place overall was Gemma Moore (North Wales Road Runners) 19:47 followed by Under 16 Menai athlete Samia Jones 20:33 and 3rd another under 16 Menai athlete Georgia Parkinson 20:50. In all of the 116 finishers there were 16 Eryri Harriers competing, notably: 6th Paul Wathan 16:49. 8th Dewi Owen 17:27. 10th Brian Wills 18:16. Eryri Category winners: MV/50 Noel Craine 18:49. MV/55 Arwel Lewis 19:51. FV/40 Megan Hughes 20:42. FV/50 Ali Thomas 23:22 & FV/65 Maggie Oliver 27:28.

Overall, a very good event, and one to do again next year.




Paul Wathan kept up his impressive record in the Conwy Parkrun with his 17th win in the event on Saturday 20th August in a time of 17:56 over two minutes clear of the 2nd placed runner! There were 162 finishers on a very windy day!

Adroddiad Ras Ffordd a Ffridd Aberdaron Race Report 2106.

Cymerodd y nifer uchaf erioed o  redwyr ran yn y rasus eleni, dros 200. ‘Roedd yna 62 yn y Brif Ras, yn cynnwys Malcolm R Jones, Eryri, enillydd y ras gyntaf yn 1984. ‘Roedd hi’n noson gymylog efo awel, felly ddim rhy boeth i’r rhedwyr.

There was a record number of runners, over 200, taking part in the Aberdaron Races. Running conditions were ideal, the sunny afternoon having given way to a cloudy evening with a pleasant breeze. There were 62 runners in the main race, including Malcolm R Jones, ERYRI, winner of the first race in 1984.
Prif Ganlyniadau/Main Results: Merched/Ladies 16+,  1st Diane Bygrove, Wilmslow,  64.43 (13th Overall);  2nd  Einir Owen, Uwchmynydd,  71.39 (1st Local, 27th Overall) ; 3rd , Jeanaine Lewis, Pentir, 75.14 (35th Overall) . Dynion/Men 16+,  1st Chris Phillips, Shrewsbury, 51.39;  2nd Dylan Griffiths, Hebog, 53.37;  3rd Malcolm Davies, Penmorfa, Hebog, 56.17;  4th Dan Book-Sutton, Edern, 58.42;  5th Dylan Thomas, Tudweiliog, 58.48;  6th Aled Owen, Aberdaron, 60.44 (1st Local & V40);  7th Steven Walker, Chester, 61.49 (2nd V40);  8th Bryn Russell, Pwllheli, 63.00;  9th Iwan Edgar, Abererch, Eryri, 63.27 (3rd V40);  10th Huw Halls, Northampton, 63.58;  11th Llyr ap Gruffydd, Aberdaron, 63.59 (2nd Local);  12th Emlyn Roberts, Eryri, 64.14 (4th V40).
Canlyniad llawn y Brif Ras wedi’i atodi.  Full Race Results attached.

Emyr Davies.



ParkRun update

Russell Bentley won the latest Penrhyn Parkrun on Saturday 30th July in a time of 16:13 which was only one second off his own course record making it 6 wins out of six for Russell at Penrhyn Castle.
Over in the Conwy Parkrun on the same day, Paul Wathan followed up last week’s win (17:15) with yet another success, his 16th in total at Conwy with a time of 17:32.