Borders Road Running League – Caernarfon 10k

Categories: Road News

13 Eryri Harriers represented the club in the Borders Road Running League – Caernarfon 10k on Sunday 18th February.
On a dry and warmer day than the usual cold weather of late, running in a anti-clockwise direction up the Aber-Foreshore and into a slight breeze, race times were quicker compared to the last time a Border league race was held on the course on 9th October 2016. First into the Coed Helen Playing Fields finishing area was Deestriders Gareth Williams in a good time of 32:19 followed by Stephen Skates (Presatyn) 32:52 with Ricky Challinor (Buckley) 3rd in a time of 33:30. The first female finisher was Amie Bagnall (Prestatyn) 38:49 ahead of June Swift (Helsby) 39:20 with former two time winner of a Borders League 10k race in Caernarfon, Sarak Kearney (Wirral) 3rd in a time of 39:57.
The first Eryri finisher was 31st placed Arthur Connell in a time of 36:59 followed by: 83rd John Davies 40:04. 95th Steffan Evans 40:48. 110th Ali Chant 42:06. 112th (2nd MV/55) Arwel Lewis 42:09. 117th Guto Rhys 42:23. 118th Math Llwyd 42:25. 136th Gary Porter-Jones 43:41. 141st Ashley Wager 44:06. 148th and our first female finisher Becki Law 44:27. 163rd Megan Hughes 45:21. 167th Helen Blair 45:27 and 218th Jenny Heming 49:19. There were 298 finishers.
On the day, Eryri’s women finished 4th in their 2nd Division while Eryri’s men placed 5th in their respective 2nd Division. In the overall standings with three races to go: Eryri’s women are currently placed 4th while Eryri’s men moved off the bottom of the table one place up to 8th in their respective 2nd Divisions. Eryri’s women are currently running away with the Improvers Trophy of the 17 teams competing in the league. Well Done to All.
The next race is at Tattenhall on Sunday 4th March with a 11am start.

Thank you to everyone who helped out on the day:
Ann & Sharon of course!
Mike Blake – Finishing area layout, lead vehicle & general dogsbody including dealing with a sewerage leak!!
Timekeepers – Glen Grant & Dave Edwards
Position Tokens, distribution – Pam Grant
Finishing area water distribution – Elen Jones (Cybi)
Heulwen Thomas – Refreshments
Half Way Water Station – Eilir & Debbie Evans
Course Marshalls:
Catherine Connell
Eurwyn Edwards
Rhys Lewis
Rob Mackey (Buckley)
Karl Sadler
Jeff Thomas
Alun Vaughan