Caernarfon 10k report and results


 What a difference a day makes! After a glorious, sunny Saturday on the Foryd in Caernarfon, the following day was a bit of a washout to say the least! Still, 149 competitors completed the Caernarfon 10k on a very wet Sunday morning with the race going in a clockwise direction this year to make good use of the following wind along the Foryd (Aberforeshore) After torrential rain in the early hours and early morning, by the 11am race start time, the rain had eased to a bit of a drizzle though there were quite a few large puddles along the race route, it was quite warm and decent running weather.

Tom Roberts (Meirionydd) made his intentions clear from the start as he led from the off and was a clear winner and North Wales 10k Champion in a time of 32:41 ahead of Dean Longley (Prestatyn) 33:47 and Owen Roberts (Unattached) 35:01. The female North Wales title went to Annie Bagnall (Prestatyn) who finished 24th overall in a time of 39:35. For the first time ever in the event, the first Eryri Harrier to finish was a female runner in Gemma Morgans who finished 29th overall and 2nd female with a time of 40:48 ahead of 31st placed Gary Young – 41:12, 32nd Steffan Evans – 41:22. 36th & 3rd female finisher, Elliw Haf – 41:56. 37th John Davies – 42:03. 61st Maldwyn Evans – 46:00. 69th Chris Hoult – 47:17. 85th James Harwood – 49:22. 134th Roy Jardine – 63:17 & 142nd Iorwerth Roberts – 64:30.

Thank You to everyone who helped out at the event ensuring it was a successful North Wales 10km Championship race, despite the weather.



Caernarfon_Race_Report Caernarfon-2017-Results-10km-1

Race the Train

37 Eryri Harriers were amongst the 249 finishers in the 20th running of Race The Highland Train 5k at Caernarfon on Wednesday 19th July, some of whom had run in the Snowdon International race a few days earlier. Rob Samuel was a clear winner in a time of 14:26 for his 3rd win and 3rd best time in the event, Rob’s best time being 14:09 while he also clocked 14:21 when finishing 2nd to course record holder Matt Clowes 13:44 in 2012. Rob was followed home by Matt Roberts in a time of 15:18 with: 4th Paul Wathan 15:52. 6th Callum O’Donnell 16:29 and also making the top ten in 10th place; John Parkinson 16:48. Making it a double success for Eryri, Bronwen Jenkinson finished 11th overall and 1st female finisher in a course record time of 16:55, 5 seconds quicker than Gina Paletta’s time of 17:00 in 2012. Other Eryri category winners were: 1st FV/35 Louise Beetlestone 19:37. 1st FV/45 Helen Blair 20:04. 1st FV/65 Maggie Oliver 26:23 and 1st FV/60 Viv Edwards 26:47.

10k win and PB for Miranda

10k win and PB for Miranda
There were 40 Eryri Harriers competing in the Felinheli 10k on a rather wet and rainy Wednesday evening 28th July. Despite the gloomy weather, 337 competitors completed the road & trail race route through the Vaenol Estate to Parc Menai and back. Leading the way on his come back from a serious injury was Owen Roberts who finished a close 2nd to Race winner Martin Green (NWRRC – 35:00) in a time of 35:04. Miranda Grant was the star performer, finishing 25th overall and 1st female in a time of 39:19. A personal best for the distance for Miranda by nearly two minutes compared to 41:14. Other Eryri category winners: MV/50 – Noel Craine. 38:56. MV/60 – Iwan Edgar. 42:29. FV/40 – Nia Gwynn. 43:07. FV/60 – Vivienne Edwards. 56:42 and FV/50 – Ali Thomas. 46:46.

Deiniolen 10k

121 runners completed the tough but enjoyable Deiniolen 10k on Wednesday 14th June as the locals turned out in their droves to cheer on the competitors in quite warm and dry conditions.
The improving Gethin Jones (Cybi Striders) pulled away from Tom Roberts (Meirionydd) on the sting in the tail climb at 7.5k to win in a time of 34.23 with Tom clocking 35:08 followed by the first Eryri finisher Paul Wathan 35:43. Martin Green (NWRRC) took the MV/40 honours in 4th place overall in a time of 36:26 ahead of Eryri’s 6th placed Sam Orton 38:15. Noel Craine ran well to finish 13th overall and 1st MV/50 in a time of 40:38 while Iorweth Roberts won the MV/70 category with a time of 69:16.
Pride of place goes to Jenny Charlton who pulled away from club colleague Elliw Haf to finish 25th overall and first female finisher in a time of 42:40 (Female, New Course Record?) with Elliw clocking 43:43. In all, at least 30 Eryri Harriers competed in the well organised event with special thanks going to Gwynfor James and his crew and the people of Deiniolen for being such welcoming and enthusiastic supporters of the event.

Busy Paul and Gemma

Paul Wathan has been very busy racing recently! On Friday 31st March, Paul won the Marsh Tracks 5k at Rhyl in a time of 16:10 with his partner Gemma 3rd female with a time of 19:32.
On Saturday 8th April, Paul won his 26th Conwy Parkrun in a time of 16:34.
On Sunday 9th April, Paul won the Denbigh 10k in a time of 35:11 while Gemma was the first female finisher in 42:42.
On Wednesday 12th April Paul finished 6th in the Chester Spring 5 with a PB time of 26:55.
On Easter Saturday 15th April, Paul finished 2nd in the very windy Llandudno Easter Promenade 5k Dash with a time of 16:39 with Gemma 2nd female in a time of 19:46.


7 Eryri Harriers completed the London Marathon on Sunday 23rd April with pride of place going to Rob Samuel who broke the long standing club Marathon record time of 2:22:01 set by Tegid Roberts at Dublin in November 1988. Rob finished 36th overall (Including the elite) in a superb time of 2:21:41 and he was still disappointed not to get under 2:20! Next time Rob! Paul Wathan also had a very good run to finish in a time of 2:44:49 having been working all week in the Marathon Expo for HOKA! with Emlyn Owen pleased to finish under 3hrs in a time of 2:58:29 having paced it very well with a half way time of 1:27:37. Next in for Eryri was Gemma Morgans in a PB time of 3:10:55 followed by: Nia Gwynn 3:24:07. Emyr Gibson 3:34:47 and Stephen Williams 3:40:10.
Well Done All
The Ballot for next year’s London Marathon opens on Monday 1st May until 5pm Friday 5th May.

BORDERS LEAGUE RACE 6 – Sunday 9th April. 11am Start

BORDERS LEAGUE RACE 6 – Sunday 9th April. 11am Start
The 6th and penultimate race of the Borders Road Running League 2016/17 Season takes place this Sunday at New Brighton, Wirral. Postcode: CH45 2PB. A flat 5.2 mile out and back course which is free to run for all Eryri Harriers.


There were PB’s for Paul Wathan and Gemma Morgans once again at the 10 mile distance this time. Paul finished 2nd overall in a time of 55:55 while Gemma finished 2nd female in a time of 67:42. There were 406 finishers.
In the Half Marathon, Eurwyn Edwards finished 3rd MV/65 in a time of 1:40:47.
On the previous day at the Penrhyn Castle Parkrun, Ali Chant and his dog just missed out on winning the event by a second and that was despite a couple of detours off course mainly due to the event being run in the opposite anti-clockwise direction! There were 194 finishers.

CHESHIRE 10K and Conwy Parkrun

CHESHIRE 10K 26th March

There were 1303 finishers in the event where Paul Wathan recorded a PB for the distance by 21 seconds while finishing 12th in a time of 33:28 with Jason Parry-Jones also achieving a PB in 40th place with a time of 36:39 as did Gemma Morgans in 114th place overall with a time of 41:24.
The previous day, Paul Wathan recorded another Conwy Parkrun win in a time of 16:57 while Gemma Morgans finished 3rd female in 20:41. Paul Jones finished 3rd in 18:43. There were 252 finishers.
Over at the Penrhyn Castle Parkrun, Tammy Lewis-Joes finished 12th overall of the 191 finishers and 1st female in a time of 21:31. Arwel Lewis was the first male Eryri finisher in 5th place with a time of