Conwy Half Report

Categories: Membership News,Road News


There were 23 Eryri Harriers amongst the 2222 finishers in the Conwy Half Marathon on Sunday 24th November run in ideal conditions.  There were some very good times considering the race route includes a climb up and down Llandudno’s Great Orme with Kenya’s Benson Olenakei Oloisung’A a clear race winner as he led from the off to set a new course record of 65:56.  He was followed by 6 time Snowdon Race winner Andi Jones 66:41 with Colin Leak 67:31 just holding off Eryri’s Rob Samuel 67:33 for 3rd place.

The women’s title went to inform Oswestry Olympian Ali Lavender who fnished 20th overall in a good time of 78:40 followed by Megan Crawford (Fife AC) 79:34 and 3rd Diane McCormick (Wilmslow) 80:14.

Brendan Rothery’s 9th (2nd MV/35) place finish in a time of 73:30 was enough for him to retain his Eryri Road Running Championship title with: 10th and in a Personal Best time for the distance, Jordan Evans 73:54. 35th Dewi Owen 81:33. 39th Arthur Connell 82:27. 55th Aaron Nicholas 84:31. 57th (2nd MV/55) and after representing the club in the North Wales XC League at Wrexham the previous day, Arwel Lewis 84:47. 58th Huw Owen 84:57. 59th Paul Jones (though his chip time was 84:55 and would have placed him ahead of Huw! Paul crossed the finishing line behind Huw with a Gun Time of 85:03. 76th Rhys Ab Elwyn 86:35. 96th Jason Parry Jones 88:14. 139th Iwan Edgar 91:08. 153rd Brian Wills 91:32. 170th Jonathan kettle 92:32. 176th Phil Targett 92:53. 212th Tony Woodall 93:39. 277th Jonathan Tyler 97:22. 303rd Emlyn Owen 97:51. 407th Arfon Bebb 1:40:22. 648th Chris Baker 1:45:47. 1058th Gwyn Evans 1:56:18. 1701st Roy Jardine 2:13:26 and 1846th Iorwerth Roberts 2:15:02.

Eryri’s men just pipped Wilmslow by 1 point to win the team title.

A superb, scenic and well organised event which is now established as North Wales biggest Road Race.



1st Brendan Rothery 122

2nd Dewi Owen 115

3rd Jordan Evans 87

4th Huw Owen 84



Leave a Reply