Joe Brown Midweek Series

Categories: Juniors News,Mountain Running News

Joe Brown Midweek Series

Midweek Series 2013 overall results


How about those midges? Little buggers, 4 days on and my lumps still haven’t gone down. Well done to the record breakers, JP V40, Bronwen U16 and especially Steve Toogood in the V50 who slipped in under my radar 35 sec ahead of Arwel, sorry Steve, I owe you an egg!


Overall Series winners and prizes went mostly to plan with the exception of Aled E and Tracey Ll who took 4th and 3rd respectively, while a good run by Sarah B on the night gave her the F40 title.  Although Math always had control in the senior men, the ladies had always looked a close run thing, Bronwen taking the early victories, Lisa not taking her first win till Aber, but victories in the last two races ensuring that the Simon Forster perpetual trophy went back to scally land for the second consecutive year.  Thanks to all those who have helped on the series: marshals, race organisers who spend their time marking the mountains, and Ellie and Lou who coped with the juniors registration, and parents who don’t know their own child’s ages. All were rewarded with a bottle of wine.


Record turn out at the races, over 280 taking part and almost 100 doing the 4 counters. Thanks to marvelous support by Joe Brown Shops we were able to donate nearly £300 on the race nights to the local worthy causes, provide prizes in each category at every race, give some financial assistance to Al Tye and Pete Douglas for their web photos and also donate £100 to the Llanberis Mountain Rescue Service. For the overall Series, 25 prizes were awarded whilst all those who had done all 10 races but hadn’t received a prize were also awarded £10 JB vouchers – it pays to stay the distance.


Caernarfon Tyres Junior Championship – A massive 40+ turnout on the night and over the series there were more than 40 doing at least 4 races. In the U8s Twm Owen and Megan Roberts scored a maximum 4 points. In the U10s Connor Roberts and Beth McEachern did likewise. Ollie Wilde and Ceri Vaughan ruled the roost in the U12s, likewise Sion Jones and Catrin Donnelly in the U14s. The Alun Vaughan perpetual trophy from commitment were awarded to Ollie Wilde, and for the second time Mared Evans. Alun Williams graciously took time out from his time trialling to award the trophies and finishers medals, and the full results table will be on display soon.


The series seems to get bigger attendance and more records broken each year!  But I will cherish the framed picture of Emily chasing me down on the Welsh 1000ms race, just to remind me to “must try harder”.  Now for Race the Train.

Midweek Series 2013 overall results




One Response to "Joe Brown Midweek Series"

  1. Sean Gavin Posted on 06/30/2013 at 1:14 pm

    An outstanding series as always. Thanks Mike & to all who made the races possible from all the participants from NWRRC. Looking forward to next year already!

Leave a Reply