Marathon News

Categories: Road News

Alun Vaughan paced his run to perfection on his Marathon debut to clock a superb time of 2:24:12 in The Virgin London Marathon and clinch the Welsh Marathon Championships which was incorporated into the event. Alun became Eryri’s 4th Welsh Marathon title winner after: 1988 Tegid Roberts 2.26.45. 1999 Emlyn Roberts 2.41.13. (Emlyn has a full set of medals 1 Gold. 1 Silver and 2 Bronze!) & 2006 Chris Thorne 2.52.18. Alun was the 7th British athlete to finish overall.
Rob Samuel meanwhile had another frustrating run at London after suffering recently with a chest infection which severly hampered his training for the event, Rob still dug in to clock 2.38.16 which is still a good time considering he could not even run 2 weeks ago!
Next in was Arwel Lewis whose foot problem returned at a very impromtu moment early on into the race, still, just pleased to finish in a time of 3.03.24 followed by Bryn Williams 3.05.52. Tim Watson 3.18.06. Rob Barber 3.37.17. Dave Kirkby 4.28.10 and Alwyn Williams 4.37.00.
Note: The final race of the Borders Road Running League 2012/13 Season takes place at Wrexham this Wednesday evening at 7:15pm. Contact Arwel Lewis for further details: 07772302411.